Town of River Falls Government



The unit of government established to provide services in rural areas is called a **town.** Wisconsin's town government is unique. Ours is the only state outside New England to have a town government--neighboring states have township governments. Under town government, there is an annual town meeting at which town residents can directly influence the policy of their town government by voting on the issues, including tax levies and the purchase of land.

The Town of River Falls was organized in 1854 as Greenwood Township, in honor of Clark Green and Captain Joseph Wood, who had arrived in 1853. The name was changed in 1858 because a town so named existed elsewhere in the state. The good prairie soils and proximity to the forest and rivers attracted early settlers.



They grew wheat, shipping 19,800 bushels of it down the Mississippi from Prescott in 1860. Later, dairying became the primary type of farming in the town of River Falls. The decisions and discussions having an effect on town business take place at board meetings or in the various town committees. All meetings take place at the town hall, W9015 770th Ave., unless otherwise stated. The board appoints committee members. Volunteers are welcome as openings occur. Notice of meeting times and dates appears in the *River* Falls Journal. Copies of town ordinances are available on the Town Website (www.riverfallstown.com) or from the Town Clerk (715-425-7373).

Town Board

(5 people, a chairperson and 4 supervisors, meet 1st and 3rd Monday, each month, 8:00 p.m.) Town Board members are elected during the spring election to two year terms. The Town Clerk and Town Treasurer are also two year elected positions. It is the Town Board's responsibility to carry out the decisions made at annual meetings as well as to oversee town property, finances, highways, and all other public services the Town provides. The board has the power to make rules and regulations by adopting ordinances and policies for the benefit of its citizens.



Plan Commission (7 members, including 2 town board members, meet 1st and 3rd Mondays, 6:30 p.m.) Has powers and duties to make and adopt a master plan for the town. Shall also make recommendations to the town board for final approval on such matters as building permits, certified survey maps, subdivisions, and any new ordinances having to do with land use.



Parks & Recreation Committee

(7 members, including one town board member, meet on the 4th Thursday of each month, except during the winter months) Has charge of all parks and recreational facilities within the town. The

committee members may improve and maintain facilities and establish rules for their use.

Cemetery Committee

(8 members including two town board members, meet the 3rd Thursday of each month, except during the winter months) Overseas the maintenance and

operation of the Glass Valley and Mount Zion Cemeteries; and any other cemeteries that the Town is deemed responsible for via provisions of the Wisconsin State Statutes.

Facilities Committee

(5 members, including two town board members, meet first Thursday of each month) Responsible for studying long term land, building, and capital equipment needs of the Town.

Roads Committee

(5 members, including 3 town board members, a town citizen member, and the Highway Dept. Supervisor) Responsible for studying road maintenance/equipment needs and funding sources.

Board of Appeals

(5 members, 2 alternates, meets as needed) Meet to hear and decide appeals where it is alleged there is error on the part of the town board or town official. May grant special exceptions to ordinances.

Extraterritorial Zoning Committee

(3 members appointed by town board, 3 appointed by City of River Falls mayor, 2 alternates. Meets as needed.) Formulates policy on activities planned or taking place in the ETZ, considers new zoning ordinances, updates Master Plan.

Comprehensive Plan Review Committee

(4 members including 1 town board member) Responsible for completing periodic updates to the Town of River Falls Comprehensive Plan.

River Falls Town Board (2017-2018)

Chairman: Diana G. Smith, 715-425-5478 Supervisor I: John Galgowski, 715-425-7093 Supervisor II: Siri Smith 715-425-1339 Supervisor III: Joe Mahoney, 715-425-0220 Supervisor IV: Brad Mogen, 1-651-303-9028 Town Clerk: Ruth Stern 715-425-7373 Town Treasurer: Rita Kozak, 715-425-8554



Plan Commission

Diana Smith – Chair; Siri Smith, Keith Kozub, Roy Lund, John Oliver, Mary Foster, Patrick Singel

Parks & Recreation Committee

Brad La Badie- Chair; Katie Pata, John Galgowski, Carmen Pata, Blair Conklin, Mary Foster, Garrett Gill

Cemetery Committee

Jerome Rodewald – Chair; Diana Smith, LeRoy Kusilek, Peggy & Scott Jensen, Elizabeth Terlinden, Al Pechacek, Brad Mogen

Facilities Committee

Brad Mogen – Chair; Diana Smith, Peter Stern, Jerome Rodewald, Roy Lund

Roads Committee

Diana Smith – Chair; Brian Weber, Brad Mogen, Joe Mahoney, Terry Kusilek

Board of Appeals

Sheila Schils – Chair; Blair Conklin, Mike Yde, Mike Cobian, Susan Freiermuth, Alternates: Shana Colburn, Ralph Young, Paul Moe

Extraterritorial Zoning Committee

Diana Smith, Brad Mogen, Wayne Svoboda, John Kuscinski, Brian Baschnagel

Comprehensive Plan Review Committee

Siri Smith- Chair; David Matthews, Maureen Ash, Kurt Leichtle